close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

LOCAL HISTORY / SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Local History/Special Collections is located inside the Barrett Branch Library and has different hours of operation. Please note the hours below.

Hours & Location
Mon, Mar 25 1:00PM to 9:00PM
Tue, Mar 26 2:00PM to 9:00PM
Wed, Mar 27 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Mar 28 Closed
Fri, Mar 29 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Mar 30 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 31 Closed

Address
717 Queen Street
Alexandria
VA 22314
Tel: 703.746.1706
Fax: 703.746.1720
About the branch

Parking: No library parking lot.  Street parking is available.  A paid parking lot is available on the 100 block of North Alfred Street.

Public Transit:

  • Metrorail: Yellow and Blue lines at Braddock Road (1 mile) and King Street Stations (1.1 miles). 
  • Metrobus: 10A, 10B, 10E, 11Y
  • DASH Bus: AT2/AT5/AT8
  • King Street Trolley:  King & Columbus

Upcoming Events
Sat, Apr 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Come take a tour of the Local History and Special Collections Branch.

Large Meeting Room
Mon, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
This event is open to the public and will be held in the large meeting room at the Charles E. Beatley, Jr. Central Library. The topic will be genealogical resources at the LH/SC Branch.

Sat, Apr 20, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Join us to learn how to use historical research techniques within Alexandria Library's Local History/Special Collections' archive to give life to your family’s story.

Mon, Apr 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
How do you save and find the images you've captured on your cell phone? Can you make sure those images will be around for your grandchildren?

Sat, May 04, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Come take a tour of the Local History and Special Collections Branch.

Sun, May 05, 10:00am - 11:30am
Join Mark Livingston of the Capital Jewish Museum on a guided walking tour of Jewish Alexandria.

Sat, Jun 01, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Come take a tour of the Local History and Special Collections Branch.

Genealogy Research Request
Have you already conducted research in these databases?
Have you checked what database resources are available on your state library website?
House History Research Request
Which of the following resourcees have you already checked?
General Research Request