close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

DATABASES

The library offers premium research tools accessible with your library card. These resources are subscription-based and provide access to information from reliable sources. With just a few exceptions, all databases are accessible from home using your library card.

Available at a library branch only.          Available only at the law library.     Requires link above to access from home.     eJournal A-to-Z List

  Database

  Description

  Learn More

Ancestry Library Edition  Genealogy and family history research. Only available at a library branch.  
Antiques Reference  Learn how to evaluate antique collections. Sponsored by Mourot Decorative Arts Fund.  
AtoZ World Food A comprehensive database that contains traditional recipes for 174 countries of the world.  
AtoZ World Travel A comprehensive resource with information about food, culture, language, and more.  
Biography in Context Biographical essays on the world's most influential people.  
Books & Authors Find books to read by exploring combinations of books, authors, genres and topics.  
Britannica Online Library Edition An easy to use, online learning resource for children and adults.  
Business Insights: Essentials Focuses on detailed company and industry news and information.  
Career Transitions Online career guidance center that walks users through the job-search process from beginning to end.  
Explora  Explora searches across MasterFile Complete, READ It!, and EBSCO eBook Collection. Topics include: art and literature, biographies, current events, geography and culture, health, history, science and math. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
FirstSearch Access to a core collection of OCLC articles, scholarly journals and reference databases.  
Foundation Directory Online  Directory and profiles of grantmakers to see who is receiving funding and why. Only available at a library branch.  
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  Resource for finding grants and fundraising opportunities. Only available at a library branch.  
Gale Directory Library The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directories to choose from. Use it to search, sort and export a variety of information.  
Gale Legal Forms Provides a wide seletion of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas - real estate, bankruptcy, pre-marital agreements, divorce, landlord/tenant, and more.  
Gale Virtual Reference Library Collection of virtual reference books on a wide variety of topics.  
Health & Wellness Resource Center Access to carefully compiled medical reference materials.  
Heritage Quest  Over 25,000 family and local histories, providing a collection of research materials for tracing family history. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
Kids Infobits Covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history and sports! Searching can be done by clicking on pictures or by typing in search terms. (K-5th)  
Lexis Nexis  Provides access to billions of searchable documents and records from more than 60,000 legal, news and business sources. Only available at the Law Library.  
MasterFILE Complete  Provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
Morningstar Investment Research Center Designed to help you reach your investment goals. Use this link if you are trying to access from home.  
Newsstand Provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.  
Novelist Plus         Novelist K-8  Provides reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. Information includes read-alikes, series information, reviews, award winners and more. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
ProQuest Research Companion  Guides students through the research process, helping develop critical thinking skills to more effectively find, evaluate, and use information. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
Read It!  Provides background knowledge to help conduct research and improve study skills. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
Testing & Education Reference Center Search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships that meet financial needs, take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.  
Today's Science Tailored to students and teachers, including tips for writing research papers, a guide to putting together a science fair project, experiments and presentations.  
Washington Post Historical Newspapers  Digitized Wasington Post articles from 1877-1997. To access this from home, use the "Access Databases From Home" link above.  
West Law  Find the reliable legal information you need quickly and confidently. Only available at the Law Library.  
World Cat Access to the world's largest and most comprehensive catalog.  

 

 

ONLINE CLASSES

Online learning resources with your Alexandria Library card, including Mango Languages, Gale Courses, The Great Courses and more.

Explore more than 70 languages, computer software, digital photography, food and nutrition, grant writing and more.