close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Burke Book Club

"Gilead" by Marilyn Robinson

2020-08-20 15:00:00 2020-08-20 16:30:00 America/New_York Burke Book Club Virtual

Thursday, August 20
3:00pm - 4:30pm

Add to Calendar 2020-08-20 15:00:00 2020-08-20 16:30:00 America/New_York Burke Book Club Marilynne Robinson returns 24 years after her novel "Housekeeping" with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the 20th Century. Virtual

Marilynne Robinson returns 24 years after her novel "Housekeeping" with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the 20th Century.

Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose is a story bout fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

A zoom account is not required to join, but a microphone is. Most mobile devices have microphones installed. If you're using a desk top, most webcams also have microphones built in.  You will need to register for this class in order to get the meeting link.

If you have questions about the program or need help with set up, please email Caroline at cpak@alexlibraryva.org.

AGE GROUP: | Seniors | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Book Discussion Groups |

TAGS: | book group | book club |

Venue details


Please register for this event.