close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Science in the Summer Level 1

Rising 2nd and 3rd Grades

2019-07-29 10:00:00 2019-07-29 11:00:00 America/New_York Science in the Summer Level 1 Charles E. Beatley Jr. Central Library

Monday, July 29
10:00am - 11:00am

Add to Calendar 2019-07-29 10:00:00 2019-07-29 11:00:00 America/New_York Science in the Summer Level 1 In this four day class, led by a professional teacher, children will learn about the human body including the digestive system, the vascular system, the nervous system, & DNA. Registration required. Charles E. Beatley Jr. Central Library

In this four day class, led by a professional teacher, children will learn about the human body including the digestive system, the vascular system, the nervous system, & DNA. Registration required.

Class size is limited and registration is required. Due to demand, participants will be selected at random through a lottery system. To be eligible to participate, parents or guardians must fill out a registration form for their child in person at the Beatley Youth Services Desk between Monday, July 15 and Wednesday, July 17. Those selected will be notified by Monday, July 22. Children are required to arrive on-time and attend all four days to participate. Science in the Summer is sponsored by GSK and AAAS.

AGE GROUP: | Children | Ages 6-12 |

EVENT TYPE: | Summer Quest | STEM/STEAM | Children |

TAGS: | STEM | Science in the Summer | science | elementary |

Charles E. Beatley Jr. Central Library

spalmieri@alexlibraryva.org
Phone: 703.746.1702
Fax: 703.746.1763

Hours
Mon, Jun 10 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 11 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 12 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jun 13 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jun 14 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 15 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Jun 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Parking: The library has a large parking lot with 175 spaces.

Public Transit:

  • Metrorail: King Street Station (Yellow & Blue Lines 3.2 miles); Van Dorn Station (Blue Line 2.1 miles)
  • Metrobus: 8Z, 29K, 29N, 21A, 25B
  • DASH Bus: AT7, AT8

Upcoming events

Wed, Jun 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.

Tue, Jun 25, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Ellen Coolidge Burke Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us for a discussion of Richard Ford's novel "Canada".

Wed, Jun 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
A fresh look at the must-have basic sources and notes about effective research methods will get you started and keep you going.

Canceled
Sat, Jun 29, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library
In celebration of the 80th anniversary of the Alexandria Library Sit In, the first known sit in, Alexandria Library will screen films and host other events related to the film festival.

Mon, Jul 01, 7:15pm - 8:30pm
Kate Waller Barrett Branch Library - Second Floor
Come see the fully color-restored 1902 silent film by Georges Méliès and Serge Bromberg and stay for the documentary, which describes the rediscovery and rescue of this iconic work.

Wed, Jul 03, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Friends of Duncan Library present A Year of Great Neo Noir Films.

Fri, Jul 05, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Thu, Jul 11, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us each month as we read a new book. All are welcome!

Fri, Jul 12, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Alexandria Oddball Cinema screens "Fire in the Sky." Rated PG-13. 1993 (c) Paramount Pictures.

Mon, Jul 15, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Alexandria author Serena Wills discusses her poetry and non-fiction. Plus she will provide valuable tips on getting your works published.

Wed, Jul 17, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.

Fri, Jul 19, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Wed, Jul 24, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Fri, Jul 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Mon, Jul 29, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us for a talk with Dr. Atticus Stovall of NASA Goddard Space Flight Center about the cutting edge laser technology being used to map the world's forests in three-dimensions.

Thu, Aug 01, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us each month as we read a new book. All are welcome!

Fri, Aug 02, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Mon, Aug 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Learn some Line Dancing Basics. You will learn some steps for beginners to get you started with Line Dancing. Bring some friends or come alone, this class is great for beginners.

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Friends of Duncan Library present A Year of Great Neo Noir Films.

Fri, Aug 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Mon, Aug 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Learn some Line Dancing Basics. You will learn some steps for beginners to get you started with Line Dancing. Bring some friends or come alone, this class is great for beginners.

Fri, Aug 16, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Sat, Aug 17, 11:00am - 12:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Learn about Scottish history through dance! A troupe of dancers from the Granfling School of Highland Dance will bring Scottish history to life with a dance performance suitable for all ages.

Mon, Aug 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Wed, Aug 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.

Fri, Aug 23, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!

Sat, Aug 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Mon, Aug 26, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Fri, Aug 30, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
This summer, Friday Afternoons are movie matinees at Duncan Library!