close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

A Tribute to Women in the Civil War

From the National Park Service (NPS)

2019-03-16 14:30:00 2019-03-16 15:30:00 America/New_York A Tribute to Women in the Civil War Kate Waller Barrett Branch Library

Saturday, March 16
2:30pm - 3:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-03-16 14:30:00 2019-03-16 15:30:00 America/New_York A Tribute to Women in the Civil War Learn about the various roles women played in the U.S. Civil War: from physicians, nurses, spies and even undercover soldiers. Kate Waller Barrett Branch Library

Learn about the various roles women played in the U.S. Civil War: from physicians, nurses, spies and even undercover soldiers.

This free interpretive program about the daring women who participated in the Civil War will be presented by an NPS ranger from the Civil War Defenses of Washington division.  Pictured is Dorothea Dix, who was appointed Superintendent of Army Nurses for the Union Army at the outbreak of the Civil War (her role was featured in the PBS Civil War drama Mercy Street.)

AGE GROUP: | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Diversity |

TAGS: | women's history | women | History |

Kate Waller Barrett Branch Library

jcahill@alexlibraryva.org
Phone: 703.746.1703
Fax: 703.746.1708

Hours
We're closed Monday May 27
Mon, May 20 1:00PM to 9:00PM
Tue, May 21 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, May 22 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, May 23 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, May 24 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, May 25 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, May 26 1:00PM to 5:00PM

About the library

Parking: No library parking lot.  Street parking is available.  A paid parking lot is available on the 100 block of North Alfred Street. 

Public Transit:

  • Metrorail: Yellow and Blue lines at Braddock Road (1 mile) and King Street Stations (1.1 miles). 
  • Metrobus: 10A, 10B, 10E, 11Y
  • DASH Bus: AT2/AT5/AT8
  • King Street Trolley:  King & Columbus

Upcoming events

Wed, Jun 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.

Tue, Jun 25, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Ellen Coolidge Burke Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us for a discussion of Richard Ford's novel "Canada".

Wed, Jun 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
A fresh look at the must-have basic sources and notes about effective research methods will get you started and keep you going.

Sat, Jun 29, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
In celebration of the 80th anniversary of the Alexandria Library Sit In, the first known sit in, Alexandria Library will screen films and host other events related to the film festival.

Wed, Jul 03, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Friends of Duncan Library present A Year of Great Neo Noir Films.

Thu, Jul 11, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us each month as we read a new book. All are welcome!

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Alexandria Oddball Cinema screens "Fire in the Sky." Rated PG-13. 1993 (c) Paramount Pictures.

Wed, Jul 17, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.

Wed, Jul 24, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Thu, Aug 01, 1:30pm - 2:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join us each month as we read a new book. All are welcome!

Wed, Aug 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Friends of Duncan Library present A Year of Great Neo Noir Films.

Mon, Aug 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
Join Oddball Cinema as they screen lesser known films, films that never received a wide release, foreign films, and films that are just downright strange!

Wed, Aug 21, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
James M. Duncan Jr. Branch Library - Meeting Room
The Duncan Book Group meets on the third Wednesday of each month.